Following a breakdown and self-mutilation of his left ear, Dutch post-impressionist painter Vincent Van Gogh voluntarily admitted himself to the Saint-Paul-de-Mausole lunatic asylum. During 1889, a year he stayed in the asylum, Van Gogh created some of his best known works, including The Starry Night. This oil on canvas depicts the view from the east-facing window of his asylum room, just before sunrise, with the sketches of a village in the background.

Enchanted by Van Gogh’s painting, The British composer Steve Martland composed Starry Night, a vivid piece for the string quartet and marimba. Frederic Rzewski used the same instruments for his Whimwhams while Moritz Eggert took a different path in Croatoan II to create a colourful explosion of sounds.


New European Ensemble of musicians from across Europe, perform all three pieces this Saturday, 29 August at 3:30pm in the garden of Het Nutshuis, Riviervismarkt 5. What a visual and audio experience this will be!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s